How DeSoto Voted

Nearly half of the registered voters in DeSoto parish cast ballots in Tuesday’s election.  DeSoto went along with the statewide results and returned U.S. Senator John Kennedy to Washington for another term.  Kennedy got 68% of the votes in the parish or 6,284 votes.  The other 12 challengers were able to gather only 32% among them.

There were six contested seats on the DeSoto Parish School Board.  Here are the results.

In District 4, incumbent Donnie Dufour ran away with it gathering 404 votes or 56% for the win.  Dufour defeated Xavier Foster and Robert Mitchell.

There will be a runoff in District 5  between Alice Hamilton Thomas and James “Jim” Veuleman.  Thomas got 233 votes for 38%.  Veuleman got 196 votes or 32%.  The third place went to KaTina Lane with 181 votes or 30%.

Coday Johnston took the District 6 race by pulling in 532 votes or 57%.  Challenger Brian LaFleur got 407 or 43% of the votes.

Dale E. Morvan ran away with the race for District 7.  He got 645 votes for 75%.  Sonja Smith Polley got 25% of the vote or 219 votes.

In School Board District 10 Bobby Boyd got the win with 449 votes or 58%.  LaTarsha Ross Shelton polled 33d0 votes for 42%.

And in the race for District 11 Rosie Mae Mayweather received 358 votes for 54% of the votes.  Johnny R. Jones got 46% or 305 votes.