DeSoto Teachers and Principal of the Year Unveiled

By Nicole Tull

DeSoto Parish School board had their meeting on Thursday, March 2 in Mansfield. The school board members conducted usual business going over financials, minutes and addressing any new business. Dudley Glenn read a verse and there was a moment of silence and a prayer for Mason Chandler, the 6 year old boy from Stonewall that passed away earlier in the week.

Teacher of the Year was announced for each school.  They were present with plaques and trophies.  Here are the Teachers of the Year:

Logansport Elementary School – Tonya Thrapp

Logansport Middle School – Scarlett Walker

Logansport High School –Rebecca Falcon

Mansfield Elementary School – Kamesha Hall

Mansfield Middle School – Joseph Williams

Mansfield High School – Demetri Hall, also a district winner

North DeSoto Lower Elementary School – Haley Carpenter, also a district winner

North DeSoto Upper Elementary School – Jessica Rawlings

North DeSoto Middle School – Renee Catlin, also a district winner

North DeSoto High School – Belinda Ortiz

Stanley Elementary School – Rebecca Cunningham

Stanley Middle School – Shayna Brown

Stanley High School –  Jennifer May

North DeSoto Middle School added one more trophy to the school’s growing pile. William “Barry” Carter was named Principal of the Year. The last bit of business was rather unexpected. Coday Johnston presented Clay Corley with a plaque for Region VII Superintendent of the Year.